Secret Santa

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Secret Santa.”

What is the greatest gift of all?  For some it may be a Playstation, a first bicycle, or a new car.  After all the beautiful wrapping is torn away and the new wears off, is it truly the greatest gift of all?  The answer is no.  We are always looking for the next big thing.  Just ask any economist and they will tell you our unlimited wants is what makes business thrive during holidays and our pocketbooks lacking.  In fact, we encourage our children to make a list of all the things they want and we all try to accommodate the lists as much as possible.  Why?

We should be teaching our children to give.  So why not have our children make a list for gifts they would like to give to others.  Maybe even volunteer at homeless shelters and feed the hungry by giving meals, blankets, coats, hats, gloves, and shelter to those in need.  Not only would we be helping others, but the greatest gift to give to our children is to instill a sense of goodness, caring, and happy memories that will last way longer than any store bought gift and it is free!

Updated: (One thing I would like to share that most people don’t know about me is that I too was hungry once.  Maybe that contributed to my current weight gain and fascination with food.  Growing up, we were poor and didn’t have much but we always had something to eat.  It may have just been rice with sugar and cinnamon (which I absolutely hate now) but we managed.  It was not until I was older that I learned of the true meaning of hunger.  After divorcing my first husband and then going through a very depressing breakup of another relationship I was on my own.  I had never really been good at being on my own because I really never had been.  I was only 24.  On top of that, I did not know at the time what it was but I had been very sick with Pancreatitis caused by a retained stone and was throwing up all the time.  I was not able to eat much of anything but then again there was nothing to eat.

I was on my own with no help, no car, no money, and one paycheck away from being homeless.  Sure I had “friends” but no one knew about how bad my situation was because no one cared to know.  I remember sitting on my futon knowing that I had no food in my house and no way of getting any.  I had not eaten for 2 days and all I could do to feel better was to drink lots of water.  When I was able to get a $5 pizza from the store down the street, I made it last a week.  It made me think of when I had money I never appreciated what I had.  Even the $5 that previously had no meaning to me had now become a matter of separation of hunger pains.  It was a very depressing time for me and I prayed to god that if he delivered me from my circumstances that I would never forget what I learned and I would make sure to give what I could to those in need.  I have not forgotten my promise.

So many times I hear people talk about the homeless or the poor and how they are just lazy or on drugs or using the system.  I was not lazy, or on drugs, or using the system.  Frankly, from what I experienced, drugs and alcohol were more freely available than food.  Everyone wants to buy you a drink but if you asked for food they would just look at you like there was something wrong with you.  Go ahead and ask for a cigarette and I bet you would get one before anyone gave you a slice of pizza.  I had later moved in with a friend for a short while but did not share my experience with him.  It was not until I met my husband that I was truly saved.  I never shared my experience with him or anyone else.  Maybe because it was too embarrassing.  But I never forgot how I felt and I always give to those in need.  Every person I see with a sign for food, every bell ringer at the storefront, every person digging through a dumpster, I think of the desperation I felt and give anything I can.  Yes, they may buy liquor with that money but they probably won’t.  At least I know that I did what I could.)

If you would like to give a gift that will make a difference please donate to your local community or my local charities at http://helpmenow.org/services/clothing-furniture/

Anything is welcome and appreciated and no they do not know I posted this so your gift would be a surprise from a Secret Santa!  Thanks for visiting my blog and please come back soon!

-Angela-

Leave a Reply

