A New Year, A New You!

diet2

One of the most popular New Year’s resolution is to lose weight!  And it is also the most broke resolution there is.  We all have ideas of grandeur when it comes to losing weight.  There are so many diets and claims for losing weight but they all lead to the same thing in the end.  Failure!  Why?  Because of lack of motivation.  So I came up with a plan.  First, identify the reasons I want to lose weight.  Second, find a plan that I can stay with.  I decided to go with the Primal Blueprint as it seemed to work in the past and I have done extensive research on it.  Third, have a support group or system for when you feel like things are going south.  Mine is my husband and I will be making a small pocket size reminder book with encouraging quotes and also a recording for my MP3 player as well.  And the most important thing to remember is that you are human and there will be times you will fall off the bandwagon.  Remember it is not the end of the world or your diet and to get your butt back on track.  So here goes……..

*******Top 5 reasons I want to change my lifestyle!************

Body Image and Comfort: Let’s face it. You are only as old as you feel…and frankly I feel well over my true age. I want to feel good about myself when I look in the mirror….not avoid the mirror all together. I am a good person on the inside. Why not show it on the outside as well! When I say this, I mean I want to change how I look for me and no one else because I am my own worst enemy and I am the only one who can change myself.

Overall Health: My body is my main source of transportation in life. Unlike a car, if it breaks down, my body cannot be replaced. That sexy vintage hotrod that everyone wants to drive didn’t make it all these years being driven by a reckless teenager with a temp permit! Taking care of my body will help me feel better, live longer, and enjoy life. After doing some research online, I found out being overweight can cause heart disease, strokes, high blood pressure, colon cancer, degenerative joint disease, high blood sugar, kidney problems, neurological problems, vision problems, depression, breathing problems, and even death! Losing weight may even lessen the chance for getting cancer. Just think of all the money I can save avoiding a lot of hospitals, Dr. bills, and medications….most of all, I will get to live longer……yea that is an awesome reason! I also wanted to add that the longer I live the longer I can enjoy my family, my husband, our kids, and my friends.

Sex: Yea I know…sounds funny for a reason to lose weight. Some studies show that men may have an increase in testosterone levels by losing weight resulting in, well, increased “blood flow” which helps with erectile dysfunction. For women, it has more to do with the mind than metabolism. When you feel sexier, you will become sexier. Even though I know that my man loves me no matter what I look like, in my mind, I still have insecurities about myself. My goal is to feel comfortable with being vulnerable in an intimate encounter and lose my inhibitions. Like I said before, I am my own worst enemy and I am the only one who can change me.

Fashion: I am not a whale and I am tired of using beach towels after my showers. I think this fits under the Fashion reason…yes. Shopping for clothes is probably one of the hardest things for me. Being 6’1” tall is hard enough. Being overweight and tall is frustrating! I don’t wear dresses even though my closet is full of them. My current choice of lingerie is an oversized t-shirt and plaid pajama pants. Finding jeans is a nightmare for me and when I do find a pair that fits I have to buy 3 pairs of the same style or try on another 50 pairs. There is only one store in my area that I can find jeans that fit and it is a miracle when they have them in stock. Let me tell you that my last purchases were not my top picks as they are covered all over the butt with “Bling”. Yes they are cute on skinny gals, but I have to wear long shirts to cover so I don’t blind the person walking behind me. Online clothes shopping? Not an option that I choose due to not knowing how something will fit! Fact is, my selection of clothes is limited and I really…really want to be able to fit in a great dress and go out with my husband.

Stop embarrassing others/Finding new excuses for being overweight: I carry a lot of weight in my stomach area. People have rubbed my belly and asked when I was due. I have to tell them I am not pregnant…I’m just pleasantly plump. It is also becoming more noticeable when I am still “trying” to lose weight from a pregnancy from 6 years ago. It has now evolved into the “well having kids wrecked my body” instead of the truth of how I feel…“I really don’t care how I look because it’s a lost cause”! Again, I am my own worst enemy and I am the only one who can change me. So I am dumping the self hate, and doing what needs to be done! I want people to ask me how a mom could look so good; not asking when I’m going to be popping out another kid!

The changes I am making will help me reach my goals and allow me to have a better quality life. No one except me can make the decisions. I must push myself and remember that I don’t make mistakes, I make opportunities. Being in control does not mean that I will not at some point need support. Finding people with common goals may help in the process.

Since I will be making a lifestyle change by utilizing the Primal Blueprint, I will be posting some different “Tried and True” recipes as I make them.  If you would like to know more about the diet/lifestyle change I chose then I recommend reading The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson.  You can order it on Amazon along with a cookbook and other good reads by him.  Everything in his book made sense to me and I never had to purchase anything special like shakes or pills and that sort of thing.  It is basically a way to eat.  I tried this before and it really did work.  When I asked, my family Dr told me there was a lot of scientific evidence showing that primal is the way to go.  So this is what I wholeheartedly believe will work for me.  Mr Sisson also has a website at http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/   I would love to hear what you think so please feel free to leave a comment or any advise you may have.

Thank you again for visiting my blog!  You are much appreciated so please come back again soon!

 

Leave a Reply

